Winding down

Given that it is the holiday season, I plan to take a short break from blogging to try and relax and spend some quality time with the family. Admittedly, I’ve written almost a post a day for the last 300 days, so I may find it difficult :-) . It’s been an interesting time. I’ve encountered some amazing people, some of whom I’ve grown to like and respect, others I’ve found frustrating, and others downright unpleasant (some may feel the same about me, to be completely honest). However, given that it’s the season of goodwill, I’d like to wish everyone who reads this, everyone I’ve encountered, and everyone else, a very merry Christmas. I hope you all get a chance to spend time with family and friends and that you all have an enjoyable and relaxing break.

I’ll finish this post with a cartoon by John Cook, that I’m sure you’ll all enjoy :-)

credit : John Cook, Skeptical Science

credit : John Cook, Skeptical Science

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Winding down

  1. Rachel says:

    No more posts before Christmas? Really? I’m not sure that I believe you.

  2. Rachel says:

    Oh and I nearly forgot, Merry Christmas to you.

  3. No more posts before Christmas? Really? I’m not sure that I believe you.

    I’m not sure I believe it either :-)

    Merry Christmas to you and the family too.

  4. Dibble says:

    From a perennial lurker.

    I enjoy reading your blog. Civilsed and informative…Joyeux Noël.

  5. Dibble,

    Thanks, Joyeux Noël to you too.

  6. OPatrick says:

    Merry Christmas

    Thank you for the blog and thank you for the break over Christmas, other addictions need feeding too.

  7. johnrussell40 says:

    Merry Christmas to everyone.

    Good job in 2013. Here’s to more progress on climate action in 2014.

  8. Merry Christmas and a happy new year to everyone.

    I would almost place a bet that you will write two or more posts before the end of the year. :)

  9. BBD says:

    Merry Christmas ATTP and thanks for your efforts over the course of the year. Triffic blog. Also Merry Christmas to the assembled company :-)

    Enjoy the break everyone.

  10. Tom Curtis says:

    Christmas is a strange celebration. It began as a pagan (Roman) festival for the Apollo, before being coopted by Christians to celebrate the birth of Jesus of Nazereth, who if we are to trust the contradictory nativity narratives, was actually born around April. Having been taken into teutonic lands, it became invested with further pagan trappings in the form of the Christmas Tree, and Yule logs. Now it has been coopted by the most powerful religion of our age – consumerism. Temples of consumerism begin celebrations of this, their greatest festival more than a month in advance of the event. Converts of the religion show their devotion in those temples by buying gifts they cannot afford with money they do not have, always fearful lest the gift receiver should have proved their greater devotion by giving them a gift of greater value. After several rounds of feasting with various groupings of companions they finally reach the festival itself, where they eat four times as much as they can, get a little tipsy, and then argue with relatives. Finally, in the days following the festival, they show their renewed dedication to their creed in an orgiastic rush to the temples from which they have been barred for one day, bringing back scenes reminiscent of that other Roman religious celebration, the gladiatorial games.

    Being neither a devotee of Apollo, Wotan, Christianity or consumerism, I wish you all, all the best. But not merry christmas …

  11. BBD says:

    While there is no arguing with that, I still think we have space in our lives for ritualised expressions of benevolence…

    But in the spirit of this blog, allow me to rephrase my earlier comment:

    Merry Christmas to the assembled company except Tom Curtis, who has my best wishes and earnest hope that he enjoys the peace while the lunatic hordes are off shopping for crap they do not need and that should never have been gouged from the planet in the first place.
    ;-)

  12. Tom Curtis says:

    BBD, thankyou. I accepted with laughter and in the spirit intended.

  13. Tom, Christmas is an excuse to give my nieces and nephew sciencey presents. Ex:

    Also, egg nog. QED.

    Try not to let the usual suspects wind y’all up. (“Do as I say, not as I do.”) Merry Christmas!

  14. OPatrick says:

    Tom, having just heard Tom Lehrer’s Cristmas Carol I thought I’d come back to wish you all the best and offer you this antidote.

  15. Bobby says:

    Happy Holidays all. I rarely post, but I always read this blog. All the best.

  16. Tom Curtis says:

    D umb Scientist, how needs an excuse. I go with random presents through the year.

  17. BBD says:

    Tom, given your penchant for intellectual consistency, I’d expect nothing less ;-) And it keeps the annual roster of recipients on their toes.

  18. dana1981 says:

    Because the term angers Fox News, happy holidays!

  19. andrew adams says:

    Happy Christmas to all, and thanks for the interesting discussions over the last few months.

  20. Nadoleg LLawen gan pawb yn Cymru! Happy Christmas from all in Wales. Have a good one and keep yourself safe in these storms.

  21. Sou says:

    Happy holidays everyone. And thanks for all the thoughtful (and civil) discussions.

  22. Thanks for all the holiday wishes. A final merry Christmas/happy holidays/best wishes/etc to everyone who’s commented (and to everyone else) before signing off the the next day or so.

  23. Pingback: Christmas past | And Then There's Physics

Leave a Reply

