Aurora

AuroraSunrise3There have, apparently, been some impressive Auroral displays in the UK in the last few days. I managed to miss these, but it is meant to get better again in the next couple of days. The weather, however, is not, so I thought I would just post a picture I took quite some time ago. As you may guess, this isn’t the Aurora Borealis, and it also shows – in the foreground – a hut that I slept in for about a year. The hut is now (assuming it’s still there) on the roof of the Physics building in Durban.

This entry was posted in Personal, Science and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Aurora

  1. Rachel M says:

    Oh wow! That’s great. Will I be able to see it?

  2. Yes, you should be able to where you are. It went down as far as Northumberland last week.

  3. BBD says:

    It’s the sun.

    🙂

  4. dhogaza says:

    Wow. Cool photo.

    One of my most memorable experiences of natural phenomena (and I’ve had many) involved a polar route flight from the US’s Pacific Northwest to some European airport, at night, in the midst of a huge display of the aurora that for days had been visible much further south than is normally the case.

    So you can imagine what it was like at 35,000 feet or so, in total darkness, in perfectly clear skies, at high latitude (typically such flights cross Hudson’s Bay and southern Greenland). It was amazing. I didn’t sleep a wink, despite needing to hit the ground running and engage with customer engineers that morning.

    I’ve seen the aurora as far south as 44N in very rural Oregon, far away from lights, on another occasion in my late teens, where the phenomena was being seen far more south than normal. That wasn’t spectacular at all, more of a bucket-list checkoff, no more.

  5. it must be the time of year for it. I’ve got some [admittedly over-processed] photos on my blog from last February’s Aurora over Edinburgh. See here: https://vitaminccs.wordpress.com/2014/02/28/edinburghs-aurora/

  6. A fun wee bit of video for y’all, from Thursday’s Charlie Brooker’s Weekly Wipe:

  7. Today was the first time I saw auroras from my home window in Espoo. Auroras are rare in Southern Finland, but today’s magnetic storm was really exceptional and made this possible.

Leave a Reply

