A short break

GTC_presunsetI’m off to a conference tomorrow, and probably won’t be blogging much, if at all (although, I have said that before). I am partly running out of things to say, and also think I need a bit of a break. It does get somewhat wearing after a while, and I think I do need to try and reset my cynicism level. It’ll probably shoot right back up again, but a period of modest optimism would be nice – even if it doesn’t last long. Anyway, I plan to enjoy myself while I’m away (as well as give a talk at the conference, chair a session, and – of course – listen to all of the other talks).

This entry was posted in Personal, Science and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A short break

  1. GarryRogers says:

    We all need a change from time to time. Good wishes.

  2. Joshua says:

    Nice photo!

    Where’s it from?

  3. Joshua,
    Thanks. It’s from the Observatory on La Palma – Observatorio del Roque de los Muchachos. The telescope is the Spanish 11m Gran Telescopio Canarias.

  4. Rob Nicholls says:

    Do not grieve, Willard, it is logical.

  5. BBD says:

    And yet more astrophysicist envy…

    Still, it’s bin collection day on Thursday, which gives me something to look forward to.

    😉

  6. Joshua says:

    Anders –

    Googled the location. Looks like a fairly not too shabby place to hang out for a spell. I get the sense that there isn’t a huge amount of ambient light!

  7. Joshua,
    Not much ambient light, although there can be real issues with dust blown across from the Sahara, and the last time I was there we had to retreat down from the telescope as the snow was getting sufficiently bad that we were concerned that the road might become too dangerous to drive down.

  8. JWhite says:

    Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

