The Moon

Moon2I’m not yet back from my meeting, but I thought I would post this picture of the Moon that I took last night. It’s not quite as sharp as I would like, but you can at least see the structure along the terminator.

I haven’t really been following much of what’s been going on in the climate blogosphere, so I don’t know if I’ve missed anything exciting. I did notice Tamino’s post about the analysis of extremes and his post about Judith Curry’s response. This all seems rather bizarre. How can the mean and standard deviation increase without an increase in the probability of hot extremes? To be honest, I’ve actually really enjoyed being somewhat out of touch, and so plan to do so much more often. Now I plan to go and pack.

This entry was posted in Climate change, ClimateBall, Judith Curry, Science and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Moon

  1. Thanks. It’s one of the best I’ve managed to get of the Moon. I don’t know if the atmosphere is just cleaner here, or my previous ones were just rubbish 🙂

  2. John Hartz says:

    ATTP: You might want to limit your future posts to one or two per week.

  3. John Hartz says:

    ATTP: Stephen Leahy’s excellent article (below) drives home the “urgency of now” as well as anything I have read recently. You might want to devote a future post to the ground covered in it.

    In only three years there will be enough fossil fuel-burning stuff—cars, homes, factories, power plants, etc.—built to blow through our carbon budget for a 2 degrees Celsius temperature rise. Never mind staying below a safer, saner 1.5°C of global warming. The relentless laws of physics have given us a hard, non-negotiable deadline, making G7 statements about a fossil fuel-phase out by 2100 or a weak deal at the UN climate talks in Paris irrelevant.

    “By 2018, no new cars, homes, schools, factories, or electrical power plants should be built anywhere in the world, ever again unless they’re either replacements for old ones or are carbon neutral? Are you sure I worked that out right?” I asked Steve Davis of the University of California, co-author of a new climate study.

    “We didn’t go that far in our study. But yes, your numbers are broadly correct. That’s what this study means,” Davis told me over the phone last fall.

    Davis and co-author Robert Socolow of Princeton University published a groundbreaking paper in Environmental Research Letters last August, entitled “Commitment accounting of CO2 emissions.” A new coal plant will emit CO2 throughout its 40- to 60- year lifespan. That’s called a carbon commitment. A new truck or car will mean at least 10 years of CO2 emissions. Davis and Socolow’s study estimated how much CO2 will be emitted by most things that burn oil, gas, or coal, and it is the first to actually total up all of these carbon commitments.

    A hard deadline: We must stop building new carbon infrastructure by 2018 by Stephen Leahy, The Leap, July 2, 2015

  4. Joshua says:

    I notice no signs of anything man made in your photo.

    Proof that the moon landing was a hoax?

  5. chris says:

    on the other hand right at the top of the recent comments list it says:

    “Joshua on the moon”

  6. John Hartz says:

    ATTP: “Mooning” everyone does not seem compatable with “civil discourse.” 🙂

  7. Why not pause from the climate debate to some science.

    Or is this also not science? At least it would not be trivially not science.

  8. Rob Nicholls says:

    Nice photo.
    Slightly off-topic but I’m really hoping NASA’s New Horizons probe will keep working long enough to send back some up-close pictures of Pluto as it flies past on 14th July.

    I hope you had a good break from climate-related things.

  9. BBD says:

    @ Rob Nicholls

    I’m really hoping NASA’s New Horizons probe will keep working long enough to send back some up-close pictures of Pluto

    Me too. Fingers crossed.

  10. russellseitz says:

    The usual suspects will look at the BBC presenter sitting atop all that dry ice fog and declare CO2 has been declining for thirteen billion years

  11. “To be honest, I’ve actually really enjoyed being somewhat out of touch,”

    Whut? you mean you haven’t been honest previously? 🙂 On DailyKos, they call these GBCW diaries.

  12. Michael 2 says:

    That’s a pretty good photo of the moon. It looks remarkably similar to moon photos I make. Perhaps it is the same moon! I use the older style ugly Swarovski AT80 scope for this purpose. With its special camera adapter it is effectively 1600mm focal length f11 or something like that.

Leave a Reply

