Still on holiday

TernsWe’re back from our camping trip, but am still on holiday. Haven’t quite worked out what to do for the next few days, but I’m sure we’ll think of something. We had a really good time camping in Northumberland. The weather was very good, did some biking, some walking, and spent quite a lot of the time on the beach, with the kids mostly in the water. I did force them to play some cricket with me, though. Also discovered a part of the beach that was roped off as it was full of Arctic terns nesting (at least, I think that’s what they were doing).

RedArrows_split2Also went to the air show at East Fortune. Haven’t been to an air show for years (the last time was in South Africa, I think). For a while, we lived very close to Leuchars, which used to have the biggest air show in Scotland, but it was so busy on the day of the air show we used to simply get away, and I didn’t ever get a chance to go to the show itself. Actually, if I remember correctly, it used to be on the same day as an annual golf day that I would normally play in. So, I’d go and play golf and leave the family to fend for themselves – either unable to leave the house, or get back to the house, until the traffic cleared 🙂

Pitts2The air show was actually pretty good, with a lot of impressive aerobatics, including the Red Arrows (above), a Pitts S2S (right), a very impressive team from Switzerland, the two pilots who did this, and a number of planes I’d never seen before, such as a Catalina (below). Anyway, that’s what we’ve done so far and this was really just an opportunity for me to post some of the pictures I’ve taken. I’ll go away again now 🙂

Catalina2

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Still on holiday

  1. I used to have a friend, an ex-WWII pilot, now deceased, who used to fly Catalinas and loved them. If you ever saw the film ‘Catch 22’ you will have seen them in that.

  2. Dikran Marsupial says:

    “I did force them to play some cricket with me, though.”

    fully approve of that! ;o)

  3. JCH says:

    During WW2 my Dad said he flew missions in a seaplane over Guadalcanal and the surrounding islands and seas… bombed ships and strafed enemy infantry, etc. I always assumed it was a Catalina as they were very active in that campaign. One day I showed him a picture of one, and he said no to the Cat. I found a couple of others, and he said no to those as well. So I gave up. Started wondering if had made the whole thing up, which would have been a completely unknown Dad. A year or so later I was watching an old B&W war movie, and Paula Prentiss told John Wayne she was looking at seagulls through her binoculars. I figured she was talking about birds. Weeks later the scene suddenly replayed in my mind, and I thought “maybe she meant an airplane called a “Seagull.” So I looked it up and sure enough, they had this this catapult seaplane called a Seagull. You won’t see one at an airshow as they’re all gone. Showed a picture of one to Dad and it was like he had found an old lost friend. He said they kept air conditioning it… bullet holes. On the Pitt, when I was just out of high school, early 1970s, I knew a guy who had one. He was a member, or had something to do with, the first to aerobatic team to beat the Russians. He died in it down in Florida.

  4. Rachel M says:

    Enjoy the rest of your holiday! We haven’t been camping with our kids and I’m not sure we ever will because my son would be horrified if we took him on holiday to somewhere without electricity! We might try glamping though 🙂

  5. BBD says:

    Haven’t quite worked out what to do for the next few days, but I’m sure we’ll think of something.

    In my experience this usually means the Long March Of The Chores. Oh look, we’re on holiday! Now there’s time to sellotape the front door back together and hack at the big green things in the garden and clean the gutters and scour the poor, harmless lichen off the terrace.

    Sit in the garden and read an interesting book? Or just rot quietly in the sun? No chance 🙂

    And on that plangent note, a holiday song for all those endless, hot car journeys. Get the family to sing along!

  6. Mark says:

    Flying boats… . When I was a child (born 1955) in Auckland, New Zealand, there used to be flying boats based in the harbour. It might have been the Coral Route service mentioned here

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TEAL

    which ended in 1960. The boats, I mean planes, continued to do charter trips for some time after that. I took it for granted, but I haven’t seen one for many years. They flew out of Mechanics Bay, which has now been filled in

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mechanics_Bay

    Ah, reminiscence isn’t what it used to be: it’s much better now we have Wikipedia.

  7. John Davis says:

    …and of course Biggles flew a Catalina. Biggles and the cruise of the Condor, IIRC.

Leave a Reply

