I’m back….almost

Okay, I’m not quite back. I’m on the ferry from Coll to Oban (the picture is actually taken on the trip from Oban to Coll – the weather now is not that great). We’ve spent a week doing what I think is called glamping. We had something called a stormpod which had beds, a small kitchen, and a toilet and shower, and then we pitched a tent for all the kids. We spent the week biking, walking, playing on the beach, and doing some fishing. I didn’t catch anything, but I did see some grey seals and an otter. The friend I was with, however, was in the winning team for the annual Coll fishing competition, so we had more mackerel than we knew what to do with.

Last week I was at a meeting in a small village in South Tyrol. It was very interesting, and I had a thought for a post that I may eventually write. I was also quite pleased with how my talk went, which is not always the case. Managed to spend a night in Venice, which was fascinating, but very hot. Spent some of the following morning seeing some of Venice, and a couple of the museums, before heading home and leaving the next day for our week on Coll. I am looking forward to spending some time at home.

I notice that as far as climate communication is concerned, normal service has resumed, so maybe I’ll write a post about that. Might not be much point, but this is only a blog. Anyway, I’m going to spend some time looking at the scenery and deciding if I should go outside and stand in the rain.

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m back….almost

  1. Andrew J Dodds says:

    Well, I’m just back from a week in Purbeck (Dorset) trying to pretend to my kids that it’s a family holiday and not just a geological field trip. Got two days of actually-warm weather, which was better than usual. Vague climate-related question: are UK summers getting windier and wetter, or is it just my memory playing tricks.?

  2. Joshua says:

    Last week I was at a meeting in a small village in South Tyrol.

    Had I known you were going, I would have recommended a hotel in Castelrotto….not a bad place to slum around….

    Did you hike in the Alpe di Siusi?

    Man, I love that place.

  3. Steven Mosher says:

  4. Willard says:

    If you haven’t taken any profit, now’s the time.

  5. john says:

    My last week.
    While as not as good as your all mine was fully of remembrance and consideration.
    My daughters husband was overwhelmed to secondary melanoma a very emotional week .
    Sorry for posting this my apologizes to all.

  6. john,
    I’m really sorry hear that. My condolences.

    Joshua,

    Did you hike in the Alpe di Siusi?

    We had a few hours off on the Wednesday afternoon and so did some walking around Tre Cime.

  7. BBD says:

    Andrew

    Vague climate-related question: are UK summers getting windier and wetter, or is it just my memory playing tricks.?

    Well, my understanding is that to an extent, they are and that this is because Arctic warming has altered the atmospheric circulation, shifting the ‘jetstream’ further south than it used to be, bringing wetter, cooler weather down from the north.

    This would explain the somewhat crappy weather over the two weeks we just spent in Cornwall, although to be fair, it could have been a f**k of a lot worse. We just got a good drenching.

  8. Steven Mosher says:

    “If you haven’t taken any profit, now’s the time.”

    err nope.

    Hodlers rule.

    plus there is free money after the fork if you cash out your BCC.

Leave a Reply

