Kenneth Smith

Today is the 100th anniversary of the start of the first World War. In one of the articles I was reading, there was a comment that it was an event that probably touched most of our families in one way or another. In light of that, I thought I might share a story that I encountered when investigating my own family’s history.

My mother’s father’s family were crofters and fishermen on the Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides. They lived in an area called Lochs, which is so named because it has many lochs. My mother’s great-great-great-grandfather was a man called Kenneth Smith, who lived in a village called Leurbost. Born in about 1794, there is some evidence to suggest that he may have actually been descended from the Earls of Seaforth, but I can’t really prove that, and it’s not really part of this story.

Kenneth Smith married Mary McIver and in about 1844, they had a son called Murdo (or Murdoch). Murdo married a Mary Smith (lots of Smiths in that area) and in around 1878 they had a son called Kenneth. In the 1911 census, Kenneth Smith is married to Anne and has two daughters, Marion and Murdina. At the outbreak of World War I, Kenneth joins the Royal Navy Reserve and at the end of the War was serving at HMS Pembroke. During World War I, HMS Pembroke appears to have been a barracks at Chatham Dockyard, rather than a ship. This may have seemed like a fairly safe assignment, but on the 3rd September 1917, it was bombed, with the loss of around 130 lives. I believe that one of the lives lost was another of my ancestors, but I haven’t been able to confirm this.

Kenneth Smith survived the War and together with 280 other men, returned home on an Admiralty Yacht called the HMY Iolaire. In the early hours of 1 January 1919, the Iolaire struck rocks, called the “Beasts of Holm”, in the entrance to Stornoway harbour, and sank within a few hundred yards of the shore. Only around 75 of those on board survived. Kenneth Smith was not one of them and his body was never recovered. World War I must have been an awful period to have experienced, but I can’t begin to imagine what it must have been like to have gone through that, for your father, husband, brother, or son to survive, and then for them to lose their life within reach of home soil.

Anyway, that’s my story about one of the ways in which World War I influenced my family, and I thought it might be fitting, today, to remember someone who lost their life in service. Of course, there were many others who also lost their life in the Iolaire tragedy, so if you want to know more, you can read about it here. There’s also a memorial page for those from Leurbost who lost their lives.

Kenneth Smith

Kenneth Smith

Addendum – added 5 August 2014
As per this comment, I’ve since confirmed that another ancestor was killed in the Chatham Barracks bombing in September 1917. Below is a picture of him – Alexander Kennedy – in his naval uniform. The picture at the bottom is of his brother, Murdo, who was in the Ross Mountain Battery and survived the war.

Alexander Kennedy

Alexander Kennedy

Murdo Kennedy

Murdo Kennedy

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kenneth Smith

  1. Vinny Burgoo says:

    I did a bit of research on a local coal magnate recently. He had three children. His son survived the Somme and won a Military Cross there only to die in a motorcycle accident in Ireland (presumably when on leave) a few months before the end of the war. Then within two years both of the magnate’s daughters died of the Spanish Flu, both while working in Britain as nurses in military hospitals, something they had done in France during the war in what he must have thought were more perilous circumstances, This sent the poor chap over the edge and he seems to have had a breakdown (which involved a fetish for miniature railways and concrete). In his will, he said his mansion and its grounds should be used as a rest home for gentlefolk suffering from nervous disorders but somehow his wife overturned this and sold the place within a year. Perhaps she had him declared insane.

  2. I was tempted to mention the 1918 Spanish Flu pandemic, partly because it affected the the other side of my family, and partly because it must have been awful to have had to experience World War I and then a flu pandemic (that I think took as many lives as the War), but too many depressing stories in one post just seemed a bit much.

  3. Vinny Burgoo says:

    No, bring on the gloom!

  4. Steve Bloom says:

    Interesting, although I have to confess I’m insufficiently interested in the details of my own ancestry to bother doing work like this. Actually for my father’s side it wouldn’t be any work to speak of since I have Mormon relatives on both grandparental branches, but I haven’t looked.

    I notice you have 1878 for the latter Kenneth’s birth, but the photo caption seems to indicate more like 1890.

  5. Steve,
    Ahh, no, 28 Leurbost was his address. In the crofting villages on Lewis, there were so few houses that they were simply identified by a number and the name of the village. His age was 41. There’s a bit more detail in the links.

  6. Rachel M says:

    I have a great uncle who died at Gallipoli. His family planted a tree at the family farm in south-east Queensland in his memory which by the time I came along had grown to an impressive size and was perfect for climbing. The farm belonged to my Grandparents by this stage. Sadly, the tree was taken out in a storm not all that long ago. Maybe ten years ago? Another tree was planted in its place.

  7. Rachel,
    That’s really nice that even today the family does something to remember someone who died almost 100 years ago.

  8. Rachel M says:

    Yes, everyone in the family remembers him because of that tree which was particularly popular for all of us grandkids for climbing. There was also a plaque on the tree which I think has been transferred to the replacement.

  9. I mentioned in the post that I had thought that another ancestor had been killed in the bombing at Chatham barracks in September 1917. I checked with my parents, and it is indeed the case. My mother sent the following, which I’ve edited slightly.

    There were two brothers, Alex and Murdo Kennedy, from Cromore (the sons of my grandfather’s sister, Ishbel). They were to have gone to University, but signed up straight after leaving school (The Nicolson Institute – my old school but which in those days was in the building which I seem to remember we visited during our Stornoway holiday, as it now contains the Museum, although in my day we still had some classes there – I came off my bike one day, rounding the corner as there was black frost on the ground,, which you couldn’t see, and I skidded).

    Alex, who was in the Royal Navy, was killed at Chatham Barracks in 1917 during an air raid. He was 21 years old. His brother, Murdo, was in the Ross Mountain Battery. I have a photo of them, and a hand drawn post card sent to my Aunt Anna by Alex at the Gallipoli landings, from the ship, HMS Implacable.

    A lot of the Lewis family visited and stayed with my grandparents in Renfrew on their way to and from their leave periods, and my father remembers my grandmother weeping when bad news was received about any of them.

    I don’t know if you remember the story, but the two brothers hadn’t seen each other since the beginning of the war, and Murdo was being rowed ashore and one of the oarsmen was his brother, Alex. A strange reunion, but at least at that point they both survived.

    I’ve added a couple of pictures of Alexander Kennedy and Murdo Kennedy, that my parents sent me, to the end of the post.

  10. Pingback: An Australian family history | RachelSquirrel

  11. Marion E Macleod says:

    How interesting to happen upon your writings. Kenneth Smith was my great, great grandfather. Marion was my granny Leurbost and Murdina, my dear and slightly crazy great aunt whose birthday I still remember every October 23rd. No.28 was my family home. It would be be wonderful to hear more from you.

  12. Marion,
    Then it seems we’re distantly related. My great-great-grandmother was Annabella Smith, who (I think) was Kenneth Smith’s Aunt. She married Murdo Macleod and moved to 18 Cromore. If you want to hear any more, feel free to get in touch via the contact page.

    [Edit: I should probably reread my posts before responding to comments, as the above should have been obvious from the post 🙂 ]

Leave a Reply

