Andy Skuce

As many probably already know, Andy Skuce passed away last week. Andy was someone I greatly respected who made a significant, positive contribution to the dialogue about climate and energy. Andy was a key contributor to Skeptical Science, and wrote a number of important posts. He also contributed to a number of publications, including the consensus project paper, and one on which we worked quite closely.

Andy recently wrote a very moving post about his illness and I encourage you to read it, if you haven’t done so already. I was aware that Andy’s condition was very serious, but was still quite shocked when I heard the news of his death. I feel very fortunate to have got to know and work with someone as exceptional as Andy Skuce and I will certainly greatly miss him and his contributions.

Some other articles remembering Andy’s contributions are below.

Remembering Andy – Skeptical Science.
Andy Skuce – you will be sorely missed – Sou at Hotwhopper.
May we fight on so that a climate warrior may rest in peace – Get Energy Smart! NOW!
In memorium Andy Skuce July 22, 1954 – September 14, 2017 – Rabett Run.

This entry was posted in Climate change, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Andy Skuce

  1. Magma says:

    Andy’s final post was brave, honest and deeply moving. I missed the chance to meet him in person, but I’m going to watch his two UQx Denial101 lectures later today.

  2. verytallguy says:

    My recollections of Andy’s contributions is that they were always informative and never snarky. I only wish I could say the same for myself.

    RIP

  3. vtg,
    Yes, I wish I could say the same about myself too.

  4. His “hey, I am pretty sick” post showed him to be a pretty classy guy. We all have to pick up the slack.

  5. anoilman says:

    I wish I knew before it happened…

  6. Steven Mosher says:

    what vtg said

  7. Pingback: Andy Skuce | Hypergeometric

  8. Jim Hunt says:

    I only discovered recently that Andy had been suffering from prostate cancer for many years. I had gathered that things were bad, but was shocked to discover just how bad.

    I’ve recently been proclaimed, albeit provisionally, prostate cancer free. If you’re male and of a certain age make sure you have a PSA test regularly. Beware the not infrequent false positives.

  9. Andrew Dodds says:

    Makes me feel that I should make more of an effort..

    Although I can relate to the post; I’ve varied between critical illness* and recovery over the past 2 years – after a while you do normalize it. And chemotherapy is not *as* bad as commonly portrayed, a lot of work has gone in to making it tolerable.

    There is also an interesting political/generational thing here. Andy S – from his post – had the benefit of generous payoff terms from being a generation older than me – far more than I’d get, I suspect – and the generation ‘below’ me would be lucky to get anything at all, with the progressive winnowing of contracts. The economic impacts of illness can be scary – you can be put in a position where death is OK, because the life insurance can’t dodge payouts, and full recovery is OK – you can go back to work – but there exists an in-between land of long term illness and disability. You don’t want to go there. At least I’m not in the US..

    One thing you do get is the sudden realization of how dependent you are on the existence of society. Without a whole supply chain delivering medicines, I would die in a few weeks. Without things like heating, housing, food security, and the rest I would never have recovered from the first attack. The idea – beguiling as it is to an adult in good health – that society is an optional add-on that you don’t really *need* is stripped away quite rapidly.

    Sorry about rambling on..

    *Vasculitis PAN. Chemo isn’t just for cancer..

  10. Andrew,

    Although I can relate to the post; I’ve varied between critical illness* and recovery over the past 2 years

    Sorry to hear that. I hope it is all going well.

  11. Jim Hunt says:

    Andrew – I don’t have life insurance. A good incentive for staying alive I find!

    My consultant recommends “a healthy lifestyle and a positive attitude”. I asked him “When can I start cycling and surfing again?” He said “as soon as you feel up to it”. I replied “yesterday if not sooner then!”.

    I didn’t tell him that I’d jumped the gun.

  12. I first came across Andy on the SkS website and got the impression he was knowledgeable, concerned, and a thoroughly nice bloke. I’ll miss his contribution.

    And I’d like to echo what Jim Hunt said upstream. Once you’re in your 50s—or sooner if there is a family history—all men should ask for a regular PSA test. There might well be a few scares, and the investigation is no fun, but the prognosis—if a problem is found early—is very likely to be a good one.

    I have two uncles who had prostate cancer for many years. One died recently aged 86, and the other is leading an active life at 85. Both had attended my father’s funeral when he died of prostate cancer in ’92, aged 71. I wrote the eulogy in which I urged all the older men present to have PSA tests. I like to think it was a useful warning.

  13. Andrew Dodds says:

    Jim –

    Well, I was a cynical sod before getting ill and I haven’t let it change me..

  14. My heart hurts a little, I feel I have lost a friend, and I think there are a lot of relative strangers who feel the same about him. I haven’t known what to say but would especially like to reference a series of posts on SkS in which he talks about how he came to understand and accept the conclusions of climate science. He was always gentle and tolerant and intelligent: the very definition of wise, a true gentleman.


    Changing Climates, Changing Minds: The Personal
    Posted on 11 March 2012 by Andy Skuce

    Nobody comes into this world with a fully-formed opinion on anthropogenic climate change. As we learn about it, we change our minds. Sometimes, changing your mind can be easy and quick; sometimes it’s hard and slow. This is an anecdotal and subjective account of the author’s changes of mind.

  15. Willard says:

    Vintage 2013-11-20:

    Air conditioners are unnecessary. If it gets too warm, just leave the damned fridge door open. H/T Homer Simpson.

Leave a Reply

